Miles Franklin Shortlist & Pulitzer Prize Winners

The Miles Franklin Award shortlist was announced earlier today and it's a very short list. Winner will be announced 22 June:

• Bereft by Chris Womersley
• That Deadman Dance by Kim Scott
• When Colts Ran by Roger McDonald

More than 2,400 entries are submitted each year in the Pulitzer Prize competitions, and only 21 awards are normally made. The awards are the culmination of a year-long process that begins early in the year with the appointment of 102 distinguished judges who serve on 20 separate juries and are asked to make three nominations in each of the 21 categories.

While the journalism process goes forward, shipments of books totaling some 1,000 titles are being sent to five letters juries for their judging in these categories:

•For distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life.
•For a distinguished and appropriately documented book upon the history of the United States.
•For a distinguished and appropriately documented biography or autobiography by an American author.
•For a distinguished volume of original verse by an American author.
•For a distinguished and appropriately documented book of nonfiction by an American author that is not eligible for consideration in any other category.

The list of winners for this year in the Letters (books) competition are:
Fiction: A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
Drama: Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris
History: The Fiery Trial: Abraham Lincoln and American Slavery by Eric Foner
Biography: Washington: A Life by Ron Chernow
Poetry: The Best of It: New and Selected Poems by Kay Ryan
Non Fiction: The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer by Siddhartha Mukherjee

No comments:

Post a Comment